香港主要服務業概要

資料提供:
貿發局標誌

更新日期: 2009年3月27日

向朋友推介評分列印

進出口貿易

概況

  • 香港是世界第十三大貿易經濟體系,2008年的產品貿易總值達7,500億美元,較2007年上升5.3%。

  • 香港處理的離岸貿易亦越來越多。香港政府估計,2007年香港的離岸貿易總值達 2,657億美元,較2006年增升16.3%,而轉口貨值則達3,306億美元,較2006年上升10.8%。2007年香港的離岸貿易總值相當於當年轉口貨值的80%。

  • 截至2008年9月,香港共有96,488家進出口貿易公司,僱用518,079名員工。2007年,進出口貿易錄得達407億美元的增加值。2008年第3季,進出口貿易佔香港實質GDP的22.6%。

  • 中國內地的對外貿易日益擴展,其中很大部分經香港處理。2008年內地約有17%的外貿通過香港進行,而香港約有62.5%的轉口貨物來自內地。

業界數據
 

進出口貿易

20089

機構數目

96,488

僱員人數

518,079

資料來源:香港政府統計處《就業及空缺按季統計報告》


(億美元)

-

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

2008

商貿服務及貿易相關服務出口

149

167

188

208

229

255

280

同比增長

+9.0%

+12.2%

+12.5%

+10.7%

+9.9%

+11.6%

+9.9%

佔服務貿易輸出的比重(%)

34.6%

35.9%

34.1%

32.7%

31.5%

30.1%

30.4%

資料來源:香港政府統計處《本地生產總值(季刊)》


商貿服務及貿易相關服務主要出口市場 (億美元)

-

2006

比重(%)

同比增長

2007

比重(%)

同比增長

美國

64.76

28.3%

+14.4%

71.19

27.9%

+9.9%

中國內地

60.00

26.3%

+4.5%

64.57

25.3%

+7.6%

日本

13.64

6.0%

+10.1%

14.49

5.7%

+6.2%

英國

12.70

5.6%

+12.2%

13.81

5.4%

+8.8%

德國

11.78

5.2%

+11.8%

13.72

5.4%

+16.4%

資料來源:香港政府統計處《香港服務貿易統計報告》


服務範圍

香港進出口貿易公司擅長採購不同類別的產品,包括原材料、機器和零部件,以及各類消費品。採購活動可分為3大類:(1) 採購香港生產的貨品;(2) 採購區內各地的貨品供轉口用;(3) 從一個國家採購貨品直接運往第三地,毋須經過香港。

香港貿易公司的進口業務主要是以代理或經銷的形式從事分銷。這些貿易公司通常專攻某一個領域的產品,同時代表一個或多個牌子,業務地域範圍一般包括香港、內地(或部分地區)或亞洲其他國家。

隨著中國內地的貿易支援服務日漸發展,貿易公司進行離岸採購貨品再在國際市場銷售的趨勢,正與日俱增。這些貨品有些經香港轉運,有些則不經香港而直接付運。這種貿易稱為離岸貿易,並無計入香港的貿易統計數字之內。不過,據香港政府統計處的資料顯示,2007年香港的離岸貿易總值達2,657億美元,較2006年增升16.3%;相比之下,轉口貨值達3,306億美元,較2006年上升10.8%。


服務提供者

香港的進出口貿易公司一般規模細小,平均只有5名僱員。現時香港約有96,488家進出口貿易公司,其中員工超過100名的公司不足300家。進出口貿易公司可分為3類:
  • 「左手交右手」的貿易商:這些貿易公司主要為買家與賣家配對,在整個過程中沒有提供多大增值。這些公司採購時直截了當,通常在內地或香港尋找貨品,然後主要運往海外市場。他們的競爭優勢,在於得到供應商提供低成本的貨品,以及對區內的貨源瞭如指掌。

  • 提供若干增值服務的貿易商:現時不少貿易公司為其供應商採購原材料,並為這些物料提供融資。他們通常使用客戶開出的信用證作為擔保,為其採購訂單融通資金。其他公司則與多間工廠建立外判關係,並對這些工廠的生產管理(包括品質控制)有很大的控制權。

  • 提供高增值服務的貿易商:在一些情況下,貿易公司為其傳統業務提供的增值服務之多,已超乎出口商原來的範圍。例如,有些企業為供應商的工廠設計並生產零部件,以供生產製成品作出口之用。這些企業的增值大部分來自其設計隊伍,而其競爭優勢在於有能力設計在目標市場銷路暢旺的產品。

隨著越來越多客戶與生產商直接洽談業務,令香港的貿易中介地位減弱,香港貿易公司的營商環境日見困難。2007年,商貿服務的毛利比率1從2004年的8.6%下降至7.8%,反映利潤不斷收縮。面對貿易中介地位減弱,現時香港貿易商不但積極尋找更具競爭力的貨源,還提供更多增值服務。例如,港商協助海外客戶檢驗廠商生產的產品,確保產品符合標準,並監督生產日程,保證準時交貨。當海外買家的訂單激增或需要迅速交貨,港商亦可協助買家統籌生產活動。

2007年,與離岸貿易相關的商品服務涉及的佣金比率2為4.2%(2004年:3.6%),轉口毛利比率則為17.1%(2004年:17.3%),兩者均保持穩定。

小型與大型貿易公司的運作截然不同。小型企業通常擅長將外國貨品銷往內地,大多數會專攻某個領域,例如醫療設備,並擔任外國牌子的代理或分銷商。大型企業的強項在於從區內採購產品,他們大多擁有地區性甚或全球性採購網絡,而且不會專門經營某類產品。



服務輸出

香港的進出口貿易業主要以離岸買賣貨品的形式對外輸出服務。由於香港擁有鄰近內地的地理優勢,加上香港的生產基地已北移(尤其是遷往珠江三角洲),因此內地是大部分離岸貿易的來源。隨著香港生產商將生產活動分散至其他低成本國家,預料離岸貿易的模式亦會追隨這個趨勢發展。

2008年,香港的貿易相關服務輸出達280億美元,佔服務輸出總值的30.1%。2007年,中國內地佔香港的商貿服務及貿易相關服務輸出總值25.3%。



業界發展及市場前景

  • 金融海嘯對全球經濟造成打擊,亞洲亦不能倖免。香港是一個開放的經濟體系,貿易總額相當於GDP的300%以上,受金融風暴影響,本港的貿易活動亦有所減少。2009年1月,香港的出口及進口貨值分別下跌21.8%及27.1%,但其表現較亞洲其他大部分經濟體系為佳,其中一些亞洲經濟體系的進出口於期內下跌超過30%。

  • 二十國集團(G20)於2008年11月作出承諾,努力打擊保護主義措施。據世界銀行於2009年3月發表的報告顯示,在這20個經濟體系中,有17個採取共47項貿易限制措施,對其他國家的利益造成影響。

  • 鑒於出口放緩,中國內地自2008年8月以來,多次提高增值稅出口退稅率;此外,加工貿易限制類目錄也剔除了其中77%產品。

  • 2008年11月,中國政府公布一項4萬億元人民幣(5,850億美元)經濟刺激方案,以促進內需。假若私人消費受到刺激增加,進口料將增升,為香港貿易商提供大量商機。

  • 近年,亞洲逐漸發展成為一體化市場,區內簽署的多項自由貿易協議是其中推動因素之一。特別值得注意的是,中國-東盟自由貿易協議於2005年開始實施,預定於2010年完成撤銷關稅計劃,令亞洲區內貿易更趨蓬勃。


內地與香港關於建立更緊密經貿關係的安排 (CEPA)

根據於2004年12月生效的《外商投資商業領域管理辦法》,外資企業獲准進入內地市場從事貿易業務,不受任何每年最低貿易額限制。然而,外資企業必須符合最低註冊資本(根據《公司法》的有關規定3)、註冊資本及投資總額的有關規定。

根據CEPA,香港服務提供者可以經營化肥、成品油、原油的佣金代理業務,以及化肥的批發和零售業務。

此外,在內地累計開設店舖超過30家的同一香港服務提供者,如經營商品包括藥品、農藥、農膜、化肥、植物油、食糖、棉花等,且上述商品屬於不同品牌及來自不同供應商,則該香港服務提供者獲允許以獨資形式經營。目前,在同一情況下,外國公司只可持有有關企業最多49%股權。


 

1  從與離岸貿易有關的商品服務賺取的佣金佔所涉貨物銷售價值的百分比;「轉口毛利比率」指轉口毛利佔貨物轉口價值的百分比。
2「商貿服務」與「商品服務」的分別是,從事商貿服務的公司具有所涉貨物的物主身分;從事商品服務的公司並不具有所涉貨物的物主身分。
3 按照《公司法》,最低註冊資本為人民幣30,000元。

更多行業

Profiles of Hong Kong Major Service Industries

Content provided by:
TDC logo

Last updated: 27 March, 2009

Email ThisRate ThisPrint Friendly

Import and Export Trade

Photo

Overview

  • Hong Kong is the world's 13th largest trading economy. In 2008, Hong Kong's total merchandise trade amounted to US$750 billion, up 5.3% from 2007.

  • Hong Kong is also handling an increasing amount of offshore trade. The Hong Kong government estimates that the sales value of offshore trade in 2007 amounted to US$265.7 billion, up 16.3% over 2006. In comparison, the value of re-exports was US$330.6 billion in 2007, up 10.8% over 2006. The amount of offshore trade was equivalent to 80% of the value of Hong Kong's re-exports for 2007.

  • As of September 2008, 518,079 people were employed in the import and export trade sector, which had 96,488 establishments. In 2007, the sector recorded a value-added of US$40.7 billion. As in the third quarter of 2008, the sector accounted for 22.6% of Hong Kong's GDP in real terms.

  • Hong Kong has been handling a significant portion of the Chinese mainland's expanding external trade. In 2008, about 17% of the mainland's foreign trade was handled via Hong Kong and 62.5% of Hong Kong's total re-exports were originated from the Chinese mainland.


Industry Data

Import and Export Trade

September 2008

Number of Establishments

96,488

Employment

518,079

Source: Quarterly Report of Employment and Vacancies Statistics, Census and Statistics Department


(US$ billion)

-

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

2008

Export of Merchanting and Trade-related Services

14.9

16.7

18.8

20.8

22.9

25.5

28.0

Year-on-year (YoY) growth

+9.0%

+12.2%

+12.5%

+10.7%

+9.9%

+11.6%

+9.9%

Contribution to Services Exports

34.6%

35.9%

34.1%

32.7%

31.5%

30.1%

30.4%

Sources: Gross Domestic Product (Quarterly) , Census and Statistics Department



Major Export Markets of Merchanting and Trade-related Services (US$ million)

-

2006

Share %

YoY growth

2007

Share %

YoY growth

US

6,476

28.3%

+14.4%

7,119

27.9%

+9.9%

China

6,000

26.3%

+4.5%

6,457

25.3%

+7.6%

Japan

1,364

6.0%

+10.1%

1,449

5.7%

+6.2%

UK

1,270

5.6%

+12.2%

1,381

5.4%

+8.8%

Germany

1,178

5.2%

+11.8%

1,372

5.4%

+16.4%

Sources: Report on Hong Kong Trade in Services Statistics , Census and Statistics Department


Range of Services

Hong Kong's import and export trading firms are active in sourcing various types of goods, including raw materials, machinery and parts, and a wide range of consumer  goods. There are three main types of sourcing activities: (1) sourcing goods produced in Hong Kong; (2) sourcing goods from around the region for re-exports; and (3) sourcing goods from one country to be shipped directly to a third country without touching Hong Kong ground.

The import business of Hong Kong trading firms is mainly generated by the distributing capabilities under the identity of agents or dealers. These trading firms usually specialise in one area of products and represent one or more foreign brands. Their trading map usually encompasses Hong Kong, the Chinese mainland (or certain parts of it) or other Asian countries.

Due to the development of trade supporting services on the Chinese mainland, trading firms increasingly source goods offshore for sales in international markets. Some of these goods are transhipped via Hong Kong, or shipped directly without touching Hong Kong ground. Such trade, known as offshore trade, is not reflected in Hong Kong's trade statistics. According to the Census and Statistics Department, Hong Kong's sales value of offshore trade in 2007 amounted to US$265.7 billion, up 16.3% over 2006. In comparison, the value of re-exports was US$330.6 billion in 2007, up 10.8% over 2006.



Service Providers

Hong Kong's import and export trading firms are typically small, employing around 5 persons on average. There are around 96,488 import and export trading firms in Hong Kong, with less than 300 of these firms having more than 100 employees. There are three broad categories of import and export trading firms:

  • Left hand - right hand traders: these refer to trading firms which match sellers and buyers without adding any significant value to the process. These firms are characterised by the conduct of a straight-forward sourcing operation, usually identifying goods produced on the mainland or Hong Kong and shipping them to overseas markets. These firms rely on their specialist knowledge of the sources of products in the region and the low costs of their supplies as their main competitive advantages.

  • Traders with some value added services: Many firms now source raw materials for their suppliers and provide finance for these materials. They often use letters of credit from their customers as a guarantee for raising finance for their purchase orders. Other firms develop a sub-contractor relationship with a number of factories in which they exert significant control over the management of production, including quality control.

  • Traders with sophisticated value-added services: In certain cases exporting firms have added value to their traditional activity to such an extent that it may be difficult to retain the label of being exporters. For example, some firms have become designer and manufacturer of components for their supplier factories to produce finished goods, which the firms subsequently export. These firms add value mostly from their design team and their competitive edge comes from their ability to design products which sell well in the target markets.

The business environment for Hong Kong's trading firms is becoming more challenging amid the growing trend toward direct dealing between customers and manufacturers, known as "trade disintermediation". In 2007, the rate of gross margin1 of merchanting was 7.8%, down from 8.6% in 2004, illustrating the squeeze in margin. In response to trade disintermediation, Hong Kong traders now provide more value-added service in addition to finding more competitive sources of supplies. For example, Hong Kong traders help their overseas clients inspect the goods produced by the manufacturers to ensure they are up to standard, and monitor production schedules to meet delivery. Hong Kong traders can also help overseas buyers coordinate production when the buyers have a sudden surge in orders and quick turnaround is needed.

In the same period, the commission rate of merchandising2 for offshore transactions was 4.2% (2004: 3.6%), while the rate of re-export margin was 17.1% in 2007 (2004: 17.3%). Both remained stable.

The operations of small and big trading firms are quite different. Smaller firms are usually strong in introducing foreign products to the mainland market. In most cases, they specialise in one area, such as medical equipment, and represent some foreign brands as their agents or distributors. Bigger trading firms are usually strong in sourcing products from the region. They usually have regional or even global sourcing networks and do not specialise on a particular type of product.


Exports

Hong Kong's import and export trading sector exports its services mainly in the form of offshore buying and selling of goods. Given Hong Kong's proximity and the relocation of Hong Kong's manufacturing bases to the mainland, particularly the Pearl River Delta, the Chinese mainland is a major source of offshore trading activities. As Hong Kong manufacturers are diversifying their production activities to other low-cost countries, the offshore trading pattern is expected to reflect the move.

In 2008, Hong Kong earned US$28 billion from exporting trade-related services, accounting for 30.1% of total services exports. The Chinese mainland accounted for 25.3% of Hong Kong's exports of merchanting and trade-related services as of 2007.


Industry Development and Market Outlook

  • The financial tsunami is taking its toll on the world economy and Asia is not spared from its effects. As an open economy, with total trade equivalent to more than 300% of its GDP, Hong Kong suffered a decline in trading activities. In January 2009, export and import values fell by 21.8% and 27.1% respectively. However, it is performing better than many of its peers in Asia, some of which suffered declines of over 30% in exports and imports in the same period.

  • The G20 pledged to fight against protectionist measures in November 2008, and the World Bank reported in March 2009 that 17 of the 20 economies had put up 47 measures to restrict trade at the cost of other countries.

  • In response to slowing exports, China has raised VAT rebate rates a number of times since August 2008. China has also removed 77% of the items from the "restricted" category of processing trade.

  • The Chinese government also announced in November 2008 a RMB4-trillion (US$585 billion) stimulus package to encourage domestic demand. A successful boost in private consumption is likely to lead to a rise in imports, offering many opportunities for Hong Kong traders.

  • In recent years, Asia has become a more integrated market, thanks also to the various free trade agreements (FTAs) signed in the region. In particular, the China-ASEAN Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA), which commenced in 2005 with scheduled tariff elimination to be completed in 2010, has contributed to higher intra-Asian trade.

The Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement between Hong Kong and the Mainland (CEPA)

According to the "Measures for the Administration on Foreign investment in Commercial Fields", which became effective in December 2004, foreign-owned enterprises are allowed to enter the mainland's market to engage in trading business, not being subject to any minimum annual trading value. However, foreign-owned enterprises need to meet the regulations on the minimum registered capital (as stipulated in the related rules of Company Law3), registered capital and investment value.

Under CEPA, Hong Kong service suppliers (HKSS) can provide commission agents' services in respect of chemical fertilisers, processed oil and crude oil, and wholesale trade services and retailing services in respect of chemical fertilisers.

In addition, for the same HKSS which opens more than 30 stores accumulatively on the mainland, if the commodities for sale include pharmaceutical products, pesticides, mulching films, chemical fertilisers, vegetable oil, edible sugar and cotton, and the above commodities are of different brands and come from different suppliers, the Hong Kong service supplier is allowed to operate on a wholly-owned basis. Currently, a single foreign enterprise under the same condition can only hold a maximum 49% share in the business.



 

1 "Rate of gross margin" refers to the gross margin from merchanting expressed as a percentage of the sales value of goods involved, while "commission rate" is the commission from merchandising for offshore transactions expressed as a percentage of the sales value of goods involved. "Rate of re-export margin" is defined as the re-export margin expressed as a percentage of the value of re-exports.

2  The difference between "merchanting" and "merchandising" is that, an establishment engaged in "merchanting" takes ownership of the goods involved, whereas one engaged in merchandising transactions does not take ownership of the goods involved.

3  According to Company Law, the minimum registered capital is RMB 30,000.

More Industries