Business Alert - US
BA-US Home
About Business Alert - US

Feature Article

Congressional/Executive Activities

AD Notices

USITC Votes to Continue AD Case on Cast Iron Pipe from China



Related Links
Free Subscription
Email ThisRate ThisDownload to PDAPrint Friendly

Issue 7, 2002 (17 April)
 Evans Announces China Trade Mission Corporate Participants

US Commerce Secretary Don Evans has announced that the following fifteen executives will join him on a business development mission to Beijing and Shanghai, China, on 21-25 April.

  • David O'Connor, president of Advanced Environmental Systems, Inc
  • David Wang, executive vice president of Applied Materials, Inc
  • Harry Kraemer, chairman and CEO of Baxter International
  • Keith Gottfried, senior vice president of Borland Software Corporation
  • Steven Chapman, vice president of Cummins, Inc
  • David Turriff, president of En Chem, Inc
  • Nancy Bacon, senior vice president of Energy Conversion Devices, Inc
  • Donald Gallion, president and CEO of FCX Systems, Inc
  • Ray Geddes, president and CEO of General Energy Technologies, Inc
  • Thomas Gorrie, corporate vice president of Johnson & Johnson
  • James Brewington, president of Lucent Technologies
  • Robert Barnett, executive vice president of Motorola Inc
  • Robert Prieto, chairman of the board of Parsons Brinckerhoff Inc
  • Clifford Eby, group president of Parsons Corporation
  • Anthony Beyer, president of Tek Pak Inc

The goal of the trade mission is to strengthen economic relations between China and the US by helping US businesses explore new trade and investment opportunities resulting from China's WTO accession. The participants will meet with Chinese government officials and potential business partners to discuss export opportunities in the areas of information technology, telecommunications, clean energy and environmental technology, medical products and construction equipment and services.

During the trip, Evans will serve as a co-chair, along with China's Trade Minister Shi Guangsheng, for the fourteenth session of the US-China Joint Commission on Commerce and Trade.